CMU Swim and Dive: Four earn All-RMAC awards

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. (KKCO/KJCT) CMU's swim and dive teams swept the RMAC tournament for the first time in school history. The men scored the most points they've ever scored in a championship and the women won their first conference title in program history.

The All-RMAC teams were announced and winning Co-Diver of the Year was sophomore Ammar Hassan. He set a meet record for the one meter board at the conference tournament.

On the women's side, Robyn Naze won Freshman of the Year. Naze finished fourth in the 1650 free with a time that put her eighth all time on the CMU's top ten chart.

Abby Smith was named the Diver of the Year. Smith took second in the three meter dive with a score over 420 which is an NCAA qualifying mark.

Head coach Geoff Hanson was named Coach of the Year on both the men's and women's side. He helped lead the women to their first ever conference title and the men to their second title in three years.

The NCAA Championships will begin on March 13.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus