CMU named 2015 RMAC football champs after CSU-Pueblo penalized

Published: Oct. 31, 2016 at 4:52 PM MDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Colorado Mesa University has been named the winner of the 2015 Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC) football championship after the previous champion, CSU-Pueblo, was assessed a penalty for using two ineligible players throughout the 2015 season.

CSU-Pueblo was assessed win-loss percentage penalty due to the self-reported violation. The penalty dropped their winning percentage to 0.793.

Colorado Mesa University, which finished the season with a conference winning percentage of 0.889, was awarded the 2015 RMAC Championship title after finishing the season with a 0.889 conference winning percentage.

Conference administrators praised CSU-Pueblo for self-reporting the violation.

"Administrators at CSU-Pueblo demonstrated great integrity by self-reporting the eligibility violation once it was identified," said RMAC Commissioner Chris Graham. "This is a terribly unfortunate situation for the student-athletes, one that we wish would never occur. The principles of student-athlete eligibility are paramount to equitable competition and therefore must be enforced."